The Rockford Area Arts Council honored 10 artists and advocacy organizations last week at the Rockford Area Arts Awards.

The awards ceremony, which honors creative individuals and institutions who have contributed to the enrichment of the Rockford region, was held Thursday at the Woman’s Club of Rockford.

Here are the winners:

Visual Artist of the Year: Jenny Mathews

Public Art of the Year: Women’s Suffrage Centennial Plaza & Committee

Placemaking: Rockford Area Convention & Visitors Bureau

Performing Artist of the Year: Robert Rub

Innovation in the Arts: 317 Art Collective

Excellence in Service to the Arts: Stars of Light – Stepping Stones

Distinguished Artist of the Year: Fatherless Print Posse

Arts Educator of the Year: Brian Hierstein

Lifetime Achievement Award: Dorothy Paige-Turner

via Rock River Current